Designing the Magazine

Today I set about designing and creating my poster…1973566_10202306275672541_156166953_o

Using this article as my starting point for my magazine I came up with this draft of how to layout my magazine making sure to take account for the size and measurements of the areas.

Magazine Plan

I really wanted an interview with my main actor similar to this…

1517820_10202306275072526_1100835004_n

So I got in contact with Graham on Facebook to get an interview and he was happy to agree. Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 22.47.06

And here is the final interview in the article…

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 21.15.17

Next up…

The Font.

futuraA big problem I found was finding which font to use until I found this article on it which informed me that Helvetica, Trajan, Garamond, Futura, Bodoni, Bickham Script Pro & Frutiger were popular fonts for magazines and graphic design in general. I decided I liked the look of Futura the most so I used that for my titles.

However I still needed to find out a good font to use for the bulk of the text and what sizes they should be, thats when I found this forum

One responder put up this very handy response which I used as the basis for my magazine.

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 20.57.33

Using this guideline really helped me get the professional look to my magazine article that I was after.

So anyway here is a video on the full process of making the poster sped up 10,000 times!

And here is the article…

Magazine Review

I’m really happy with the way its turned out and I think its been very successful in emulating a real magazine article!

– Jay

$

Leave a Reply

